Norton or what?

DaSleeper

Trolling Hypocrites
May 27, 2007
Northern Ontario,
November was the first time I actually paid for a Norton renewal $70. each for two computers......That's because I was too lazy to do what I had been doing for the last ten years......what I call my renewal:smile:....first uninstall all Norton and symantec applications, then ferret out and delete all associated files..(somewhere there is the expiry date stamp which must be deleted) ...then reboot several times after each operation.......then reinstall...and you're good for another year.....:lol:

Your PC is a bit slow moving.....slow starting? If you have already used "msconfig" to prevent all unnecessary stuff from starting up?....you don't mind a little tinkering?
Check out this web site Black Viper's Web Site
There....check out which "Services" start up and run in the background on your PC that you really don't need and are safe to either put on manual for use when you need them......or disable altogether
Mine starts up in one minute....ready to work with in one and half...shuts down in less than 20 seconds:p

Norton rocks!

I know that the Norton security products used to be resource hogs, but that's old old news. They are now fast and light and I wouldn't trust my security software to anyone else. I've got Norton's Internet Security 2010 running on my netbook and it shows me if links are safe and tells me if downloads are safe, but other than that, it works in the background and never gets in my way.

Kakato

Time Out
Jun 10, 2009
Alberta/N.W.T./Sask/B.C
I got rid of Norton also and went to AVG but they had some problems on the last version that literally screwed up millions of computers running it.
I didnt update to the new version when it came out and things went to hell after that.
I was getting missing root file errors and when I googled it I found it was an AVG thing.
I literally had to roll back the time on my pc to any time before the new version came out and then upgrade.