A Vegetarian Cooking A Turkey

Pangloss

Council Member
Mar 16, 2007
Calgary, Alberta
Hey folks:

I'm a veg-head and the only one in my social group, including my girlfriend. I love to cook. I was taking care of a sick friend over Christmas and missed the whole season, and now I want to do a big turkey dinner (I mean BIG - and for at least 12 people).

A friend is going to get the biggest turkey he can from another (farmer) friend - organic, free range, bedtime stories read to it, etc, etc.

How would you cook it? What would you stuff it with, if you stuff it at all? The veg that goes best with it, and most importantly, what dessert?

All that stuff - and keep in mind I'm a pretty good cook, with a well stocked and equipped kitchen, and I'll take a couple days off work if I need to.

I await your wisdom.

Pangloss

Unforgiven

Force majeure
May 28, 2007
Hey good for you man! For years my wife was a vegitarian and developed one of the best damn spare rib recipes known. Must be something to that. ;)

There are plenty of options from roasting to deep frying. All depending on how you want to approach it. I like roasted best as it feels just so much more traditional. Use unsalted butter under the skin of the bird to help keep the breast from getting dry. Make your own bread crumbs by drying a loaf or two with a big bird like that, of some nice crusty bread even a light rye or something if you like. Remember sage and rosemary are your work horses here. You can add raisins to the stuffing too or dried cranberries to add a little tie in with desert. You might try changing the type of mushrooms in the stuffing too.

Lemon, garlic, lots of fresh thyme, a onion all can go into the cavity along with lots of salt and pepper. Baste with pan juices and once removed from the pan after cooking, let it rest on the cutting board covered in tinfoil for twenty minutes. Yes you can make it a hat and tell people it's so that the aliens can't get those damned gamma rays in there. :)