Alberta-based employment agencies with local connection

takao47

Jun 4, 2006
Mossbank, SK
Hi I am a newbie in this Canadian Content forum.

I am seriously contemplating to relocate to find a work in Alberta as an oilrig worker or draftsperson or something that promise much better career prospective. Or maybe I should take welding courses local college to become a journeyperson.

I used to work in Windsor, Ontario as plastic injection molding engineer (not Professional Engineer yet) after graduating from university in Saskatchewan for three years. Then recent strong Canadian dollar (against US $) hits manufacturing industry tremendously. I have got downsized; colleagues and I have not see any rebound so far.

Posting resumes on job websites likes of www.monster.ca, ca.hotjobs.yahoo.com, and www.workopolis.com resulted no opportunity so far past two months. I have moved back to hometown of Saskatchewan so see how things are going in the west, I even consider labour position.

I am just wondering if I can find Alberta-based employment agencies with strong local industry connection… I do appreciate your input.

I am bit scared to move to Fort McMurray without job offer, zero business connections or no friends whatsoever.

Thanks

athabaska

Electoral Member
Dec 26, 2005
If you have a pulse you can get a job. 1000 the first day you were in Calgary if you could physically apply.

One fellow flew in to Calgary from Kingson. He packed a box and had to go to the baggage counter to pick it up. They were short staff and asked him if he wanted a job. He filled out the application and, pending a security clearance, must have set a record for coming here and landing a job.

What's good right now is the opportunity to get into a field that might be hard elsewhere. This includes diverse careers as a police officer or airport worker or postal worker, etc.

SaintLucifer

Electoral Member
Jul 10, 2006
Simpleton said: