Hockey (winter olympics)

critter171

Hey all from the USA
Feb 24, 2010
Usa, New hampshire
Do you candains want to see a match up in hockey between usa and Candida?

By the way nice job taking care of the Russia. Now its time for usa to t ake care of you guys ;) if we can beat the other team. (finland) I was never big fan of hockey but watching it now.... i think its "growing on me" so i am somewhat new to the sport.

Unlike baseball,football,soccer etc...

Question for you all hockey fans. for the Olympics hockey rink was it smaller or bigger than the nhl hockey rinks?

Wish you all the best on other side of border.

Andem

dev
Mar 24, 2002
Larnaka
This year, to save costs, the rink is the nhl standard size. I believe that Olympic rinks are usually a few metres longer.

DurkaDurka

Internet Lawyer
Mar 15, 2006
Toronto
This year, to save costs, the rink is the nhl standard size. I believe that Olympic rinks are usually a few metres longer.

I don't know if that's a cost savings measure opposed to the realities of playing in North America.

DurkaDurka

Internet Lawyer
Mar 15, 2006
Toronto
I'm surprised the IOC let them have a smaller ice surface, but there is still more room behind the net than on NHL ice.

World Juniors play on NHL sized rinks every time they come to North America. North America shouldn't have to build new arenas to accommodate the Euros

#juan

Hall of Fame Member
Aug 30, 2005

The standard NHL rink is 2oo feet by 80 feet. and the Olympic rink is 200 feet by 100 feet.. In the Olympic rink the goal lines are 13 feet from the end boards and in the NHL rink the goal lines are 11 feet from the boards.

The cost savings come because with the smaller rink they can fit in more paying customers.

DurkaDurka

Internet Lawyer
Mar 15, 2006
Toronto