Joe Bageant ---one block away

jimmoyer

jimmoyer
Apr 3, 2005
Winchester Virginia
www.contactcorp.net
Joe (guy in the middle) lives one block away from me with a sale sign. Lives half the year and maybe all year around soon in Belize.
He just had a book signing in his hometown of Winchester.

http://www.joebageant.com/joe/2007/04/joe_talks_about.html

-----------------------------------------------------------
Joe talks about his roots and writing

After his talk last Tuesday at the Kelly Writers House in Philadelphia, Joe Bageant continued talking about writing at a nearby bar. He was joined by his host Linh Dinh (left), a poet and lecturer at the University of Pennsylvania, and by Teresa Leo (right), a contributing editor of CrossConnect and The American Poetry Review.

Text of Joe Bageant's talk at the Kelly Writers House in Philadelphia, Tuesday, April 3:

Thank you for the kind introduction Linh.

I've been writing for nearly 40 years. I've been a news reporter, a magazine writer and editor, and written a thousand puff pieces for celebrities of every imaginable sort. And now, at this late age, I found myself back in my home town writing about the poor and working poor folks I grew up with. Most of what I write is about class issues in America -- mainly because being born in lower class poverty leaves a person with a sense of insecurity and class awareness that remains for a life time, regardless of one's later success.

http://www.joebageant.com/joe/2007/04/joe_talks_about.html

Before we go into the question and answer session, let me start off by asking you a few questions. Raise your hands in response.

How many of you see yourselves as members of an elite class in our society?

How many of you are college graduates or expect to graduate from a college or university?

How many of you believe the current administration's actions in Iraq and secret "black site" interrogation and torture centers around the world constitute war crimes?