Stem Cells And Micheal J Fox

Sassylassie

House Member
Jan 31, 2006
Jim I'm not a Doctor but I don't see how this research can help Diabetics, it's the spleen that produces to much sugar or not enough isn't it? Isn't a transplant the only cure and then the desease comes back?

Tonington

Hall of Fame Member
Oct 27, 2006
There is more than one type of Diabetes. Type one is the diabetes young children get. There is a decline in beta producing cells in the islets of langehans, in the pancreas. This results in insufficient levels of insulin.

Type two is onset in adulthood, and is a result of defects in insulin production, and also a resistance by the body to it's own insulin, mostly due to the insulin receptor in cell membranes.

There have allready been studies which showed that stem cells could be used to improve the symptoms of Parkinsons by replacing the lost cells.

The pertinent information in regards to stem cells and diabetes is that in type 1 diabetes, the cells which need fixing are only one layer thick. One of the questions researchers have is how to correctly get the tissue to form, and what conditions or properties need to be accounted for in the organization of those cells.

Any scientist who is studying stem cells will tell you the reason that to date the progress has been slow. There is a need to develop more lines. A line is when the stem cells are removed and placed in a vessel, and then multiplied .