Montreal

tywy

Feb 8, 2006
Dublin, Ireland
is it hard to find jobs in Montreal if you aren't fluent in French. I'm an Irish student heading to Canada with 2 friends this summer. We really really would like to go to Montreal but it looks like we might be forced to go to Toronto because I hear you have to be bilingual to work anywhere in Montreal. Is this true? Aren't there English speaking quarters???

I would appreciate any help!

Thanks!

s_lone

Council Member
Feb 16, 2005
Montreal
Not knowing French is indeed a handicap for finding a job in Montreal. But that cetainly doesn't mean you couldn't find anything if you have a minimum of French. You may not be able to sustain a conversation but you may be able to answer basic questions... And not all jobs require constant verbal communication.

You would have A LOT more chances looking in the the West part of Montreal... You might as well forget about the East.

And Toronto is a lot more expensive than Montreal it seems... Someting to consider. I can't talk about Toronto because I've never been there but I know you'll have lots of fun in Montreal in the summer.

Haggis McBagpipe

Walks on Forum Water
Jun 11, 2004
Victoria, B.C.
Welcome, tywy! I can't answer your question, since I'm on the West Coast, but welcome anyway. Keep posting and reading here on CanadianContent before your trip and you'll get a good feel for Canada before coming over. You're going to love your trip!

lisa_19

Mar 18, 2006
Canada
tywy... WARNING!!!!

Do not consider Montreal, I, myself only live 2 hours from there, went there last year, wouldnt be the place to be, I mean its crazy over there, crazy drivers, lol and its mainly french speaking, but I would have to say that I am bilingual, but you can always find a job, in other places, like Ottawa, which you can benifit to work anywhere, you can try monster.ca to find yourself a job, but not so lucky in the Government but you can always try...

Hope this helps,

Lotuslander

Electoral Member