Which language is most used socially?

Phoenix233

Apr 19, 2012
Hi, I'm a British student writing an essay on bilingualism. The Canadian Census has provided me with lots of useful data about which language is used most commonly in the home and at work. What I'm really curious to find out and what books and the internet doesn't seem to be telling me is which language is most commonly used in social groups.

For example; do Quebecoise use one language with their family and another with their friends? Is English/French the most common language in bars and clubs, or is the language used at home the automatic choice for when you're hanging with the guys?

It would be amazingly helpful to me if you could tell me what age bracket you belong to when you post a reply.

(I would ask my family this question but they live in Alberta which aint helping me much lol!)

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me :)

Steph x

taxslave

Hall of Fame Member
Nov 25, 2008
Vancouver Island
Where I live on Vancouver island very few speak French. My wife comes from Germany so when she talks to her friends on Skype it is usually in German. WE have a lot of German tourists come through here and try to make them speak English but there is a lot of translating going on.
There are probably more people speak one or more Chinese dialects in BC than French.
Mid 50s.

Nuggler

kind and gentle
Feb 27, 2006
Backwater, Ontario.
We speak Swahili at home, as do the majority of people in Ontario.

In pubic we speak English or Urdu.

Our court system is entirely in Latvian.

Hope this helps.

MHz

Time Out
Mar 16, 2007
Red Deer AB
That's why I stay away from the beaches in Alberta, the cold weather shrinkage factor results in false advertising.

I went into an Indian bar in High Prairie to pick up a case for the road. The noisy bar became dead silent as soon as I walked in and stayed that way for my whole stay. I understood every non word quite clearly, is that the Alberta you are familiar with?