Do we need this language law?

I'm a resident of Ontario and I would

• suport the law proposed here, or some similar law.

Votes: 3 50.0%
  • oppose this or any similar law.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other answer

Votes: 3 50.0%

• Total voters

Machjo

Hall of Fame Member
Oct 19, 2004
Ottawa, ON
Would you agree to the following law for the Province of Ontario?

1. An elementary or secondary school may compel a pupil who is born on or after the second 1 January from the day this law is passed to learn a second language only if the school has proven itself capable of ensuring that the pupil has a reasonable chance to succeed in learning the language well enough to use it in a trade or profession by the time he completes his compulsory education. This includes being able to search for, find, read, and understand advertisements for the trade or profession, write a cover letter and a resume in response to an ad, sit and pass an interview, and perform the tasks necessary to the trade or profession, all in the second language. The school has the duty to collect the necessary data to prove beyond reasonable doubt that it can fulfil this requirement before it may compel a pupil to learn a second language.

According to Statscan in 2006(Population by knowledge of official language, by province and territory (2006 Census)), 12,028,895 people reside in Ontario, with 10,335,705 knowing English but not French. This would mean that about 86% of Ontarians know English but not French. Now correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought that French was compulsory in all elementary and secondary schools across Ontario. If that's the case, then we could asume that 100% of Ontario residents have studied English, so we can count their lack of knowledge of French as a failure to learn it. This woud mean an 86% failure rate, or a 14% rate of success. Add to this that this census is based on self assessment and not on any objective language test.