Can people pass diseases to animals?

givpeaceachance

Electoral Member
Mar 12, 2008
I don't know if anyone saw this but if you caught the news this weekend it was telling the population that a pig farm in Alberta had to be quarantined because the help had been on a vacation to Mexico and they had infected 1 or some of the pigs on the farm.

Can someone explain how this is scientifically possible? Because I have been trying to find a scientific explanation as to whether humans can pass diseases to animals and there is nothing about it! All I keep getting is how animals can infect humans with all kinds of things but I can't even find one article or source that talks about if it is even possible for human to transmit diseases to animals. Also, I couldn't find any flu info without all the swine flu hoopla. I'm trying to find info that is unbiased.

I'm no scientist but this doesn't sound right. How does a person who has the flu pass it on to animals? If anyone has an answer to this I would appreciate knowing it. Thanks.

karrie

OogedyBoogedy
Jan 6, 2007
bliss
I think the more crucial question to answer gpac is, why on earth would you think a virus is capable of passing to humans, but not back to the animals that were originally carrying it?

If a pig's germs can pass to us and get us sick, then why wouldn't a person's germs infect a pig too? We touch their food, handle them, cough when working with them, etc., etc. They have the same sorts of mucous membranes in their eyes and mouths as we do, which work in much the same way. Their lungs inhale airborne particles the same as ours do.

YukonJack

Time Out
Dec 26, 2008
Winnipeg
Maybe yes, maybe no.

But animals are definitely capable to pass disease to humans.

AIDS. Monkey to man.

Look up the details.

normbc9

Electoral Member
Nov 23, 2006
California
There are many virus that can be transmitted either way. Look at rabies, blood borne pathogens and the like. TB can also be transmitted. I'm sure there are others.