Rebirth of Americas Dead Factories

Kreskin

Doctor of Thinkology
Feb 23, 2006
Article about how some plants are reopening and even bringing jobs back to the US.

Rebirth of America's dead factories - CNNMoney

Some things will never come back, but IMO there is a market for higher priced goods where quality matters. I personally attest to it. I had been shopping for a couple of years for a good quality bass guitar. 90% of everything made is from Indonesia, Mexico or China. Most priced between $150-$1000. My original budget was to go to about $1000. I ended up spending $2600. Albeit Japanese made but Japanese is damn good quality, and buying from them is pretty much buying from America. Most really good quality American made stuff is in the $4000+ range but worth every penny. If not for the Japanese version available I would gladly have paid $4000 for a great American instrument rather than $1000 for a piece of junk.

My point is, cheap isn't the only consideration in some products/industries. I for one got tired of settling for cheap trash and paid some moolah for a product where quality trumps cost cutting.

Am I the only one who has had enough of the garbage coming out of Mexico, China and other Far East sweatshop centers?

P.S. I had planned to buy an American product for $2000. Actually ordered one. A real good one but the waiting list for the build was 18 months. I didn't want to wait that long. But it shows how quality is in demand.

SLM

The Velvet Hammer
Mar 5, 2011
London, Ontario