Locutus

Adorable Deplorable
Jun 18, 2007
Things ain't always as they seem eh.

damngrumpy

Executive Branch Member
Mar 16, 2005
kelowna bc
I think we have to be a little careful here. I for one think its a good idea not to have
children doing some of these things. Areas the might prove to be dangerous for the
younger folks should be off limits, never mind whether they have been doing it for
centuries. We also had children working in textile mills and other dangerous places
until society realized this was not a good idea.
There are all kinds of things they can still do however, and I don't see why they can't
do planting and other chores.
There should be a standard safety program administered or controlled by a government
agency. The reason? New on farm safety rules. As a farmer, I am facing some of the
toughest regulations ever. The fact is, if the food safety program is conducted by a third
party with a complete audit it is good for farmers as well. If all was done properly when
something goes wrong the farmer can't be sued.
We are living in a different world, America is behind on food safety regulations but is
adapting and bringing it under one roof. Europe, South America, Mexico and other
nations have food safety regulations well in hand in a changing world.
Canada is behind but we are catching up fast especially in the tree fruit industry.
Everything from safety procedures to the training of employees is changing and in order
to have exports allowed certain rules, regulations and paperwork must be done and that
is way beyond anything 4H can provide.
There is a battle going on for minds in America, there is the Obama approach and the
Tea Party, celebrating madness in a modern world. At least there is a choice. If I was
down there, I wouldn't be going with the Republicans who now now for the most part a
puppet organization held hostage by the Tea Party and other very unstable groups.

EagleSmack

Hall of Fame Member
Feb 16, 2005
USA