Camp fire

Lessie

Electoral Member
Mar 17, 2010
Russia
In some Russian universities students have a good old tradition – when they are on a summer field traineeship very often half or more of the night they are sitting near camp fire, play the guitar and sing different songs.
When I was a student this song was one of the most popular. Usually it comply collectively and very loudly at the end of the concert, in the middle of the night. I don’t know why.

YouTube - Chaif - Oi-yo

Lessie

Electoral Member
Mar 17, 2010
Russia
You forgot howling drunk-Russians are notorious.

Yes, you are right.
But people in the company which like sitting near camp fire, playing the guitar and singing the good songs (that’s mean the songs of Russian bards and Russian Rock) don’t drink many alcohol. Because (as usual) if people drink many alcohol they don’t like good song or they can’t play the guitar and sing them. They can only drink.

In my times in such companies near camp fire we drank very many alcohol. Most of the time we drank nothing. One of the reason - we didn’t have it (we were in the field – i.e. far away from any shops). But the main reason ... night, moon, youth, guitar, songs... we didn’t need the wine! ;-)

Trotz

Electoral Member
May 20, 2010
Alberta
You forgot howling drunk-Russians are notorious.

And have you experienced howling drunks from Russia? Sounds like someone is reinforcing an otherwise stupid offensive streotype and one which dates simply to a tradition in which guests were offered a shot of vodka. Alcoholic by definition of a teetoler society (Religious post-prohibitionist America); howling certainty not.

Just generalizing from my experiences in Europe - there are far more howling drunks in Italy, where people start yelling and singing after a glass of Wine at a dinner party, than in Eastern Europe.

Eastern Europeans tend to be quite mellow, in that most people there are (crudely put) 'silent drunks' and are well customed to hard liquor and beer.