Sugar free/Low Carb

rufus

Electoral Member
Mar 7, 2009
All your recipes sound delicious and I will try some of them, but being Diabetic I was hoping someone would have a few tried and true recipes for sugar free/low sugar desserts or low carb meals.

I have checked the Diabetic sites and belong to a few forums but I would rather use a recipe someone has already tried and enjoyed.

I also would like to know about slow cooker recipes anyone could recommend since we just bought a slow cooker.

I used to be a short order cook a long time ago but I wouldn't be able to make anything now that I made then because of what is in it.

L Gilbert

Winterized
Nov 30, 2006
50 acres in Kootenays BC
the-brights.net
Personally, I like some short order food. Like Japanese stir fry, for instance. Here's one we use when we aren't near Edo's fast food restaurant:

meat (chicken seafood, etc) or tofu is optional
1 small or medium onion sliced
1 or 2 very small sweet red peppers ( Or about 1/2 the North American size) chunked
1 small head broccoli, sliced
1 -2 Tb tamari sauce, to taste (or soy sauce, oyster sauce, etc if you prefer)
3 cloves garlic sliced thinly
a nice salad oil for frying
sesame seeds, a Tb or two
ginger, about 4-5 cm finger ( 2-3 inches, or to taste ) match-sticked
sea salt
freshly ground black pepper

Cut up all the vegetables and then put the oil in a wok or large heavy frying pan and when heated, slide in the ginger, garlic and sesame seeds and toast a little, but not too much; light brown should do it. Add the onions and stir fry a bit, as well as the red pepper. Add the broccoli and stir fry a bit, then the meat or tofu. Toss and fry a minute or two, then add the tamari, and a bit of water and cover the pan briefly to steam the vegetables. Have a look after barely a minute and only cook them until they are tender-crisp. Taste the stir-fry and add salt and pepper to your liking. Serve hot and juicy over brown, or other, rice.

Trex

Electoral Member
Apr 4, 2007