Dazed and Confused

Emagine

Oct 19, 2007
Hello Everyone!!

I am desparately seeking someone who is very knowledgable to the education in Ontario for Special Needs. I am fairly new to Canada from the South and I admit I am gravely lost with how things are done and the terms when dealing with schools here and your children.

I am at the mercy of the public school in my area with this and I feel they take this somewhat to their advantage. I have a 5 yr old who is Autistic with Anxiety and is labeled High Risk due to his constant need for 1 to 1 adult supervision. In other words he is highly NO FEAR!

Is there a forum, someone anyone who can take time to help me deal with the educational process when the school is not really too informative. This is his second year there, they know darn well what he is and is not capable of doing. At the beginning of the year this year they ordered babygates for the doors cause of him, they are suppose to have a security hands on approach for him which I have seen more faults in than good. They put him on early release to avoid the meltdowns. They asked me to give a note to the Dr to have a letter head drawn up stating his concerns - which he easily did. This is not the only medical letter they have. He has ran off the playground to the woods. He is a danger to himself due to this and of course a danger to his peers because the teacher left the kids alone while running after him. They point fingers to the board saying I need to get an EA for him now (which has been my goal all along) but the board pointed me back to them. Now they are more in tune with teaching me the process of getting adult supervision and they have known this since Sept 2006. He had EA support last year with ease.