"Global warming."

American Voice

Council Member
Jun 4, 2004
This is my first original thread.

I have lived in the same place, mostly, since 1955. "Normal weather" is the average occurrence over the preceding thirty years. I have been an avid gardener here since about 1981, which means I have been particularly attentive to weather patterns. Add this to relatively passive awareness--will we play baseball today, and I delivered newspapers for four years--and I have some credible knowledge of weather patterns, where I live. Urban sprawl (with all of the heat-absorbing concrete that entails) might account for local pattern changes I have registered. But, I know it's bigger than that. It's not about some few degrees of higher ambient temperatures during hot-periods in the summer. What happens when you substantially increase the energy within a closed system? You get significantly altered weather patterns, in this case. Does anyone else here see this. I'm probably older than most of you, but I can clearly see it. I took Dr. Arnfield's climatology course in college. Am I alone with my concern?

Andem

dev
Mar 24, 2002
Larnaka
You are not alone with your concerns, American Voice. The people who see the biggest and most noticable changes in the planet's weather patterns is those who live in the north. Lakes and rivers that were one major passageways are not freezing anymore, and it's even leaving some people in Canada's north stranded, since it's a very sparsely habitated area.

There is major ice meltage in the northern part of the hemisphere, and it doesn't end there. Just the melting of ice in the north creates a shockwave effect throughout the world. California will see mudslides, there will be more hurricanes, and just more unstable weather.

I have noticed the milder winters in my area, and also experienced the smog of the great lakes regions, which makes for very unbarable summers.. SMOG + HUMIDITY + HEAT + ALLERGIES = No good.