Combat the continuing cover-up

willbentley

Nov 1, 2006
The following letter went on on Morfiny Books World Review earlier today, and having checked the facts therein, it seems a very worthy cause to support.
Dear Fellow-Canadian,
I have been pressing the issue discussed below since last year. I have no personal axe to grind, save that I am a writer, not yet famous, who likes to get the facts straight. Having tried in vain to enlist the help of my M.P., Mr. Gary Schellenberger, who tells me he has better things to do than check out a cover-up on high treason, I am sharing the problem with you.
The Herbert Norman case shook Canada fifty years ago, but it is surely not closed. Lester Pearson himself was intimately involved, as a patron of the man who suicided before his role was examined thoroughly. His part in the affair has never been adequately exposed.
Since Mr. Schellenberger has declared, after some considerable delay, and presumably consultation with others, that he is too busy to take up this unsolved treason case, I am circulating this summary of events in the hope that somebody else with influence will pursue it.
I have to say that, until I read Professor Barros’ book last year, I knew nothing of the case except the vaguest details, but what he wrote about the cover-up shocked me into starting this latest enquiry.
Quote from No Sense of Evil, by James Barros, second edition, published in Canada by Random House, 1987, with assistance from the Canada Council and Ontario Arts Council.
“On November 4, 1986, about a month after this book appeared in Canada, Dr. Alex Kindy, the Progressive Conservative Member of Parliament from Calgary East, got up in the House of Commons to ask the Solicitor General certain questions related to the Norman case.