Spam Emails

shadowshiv

Dark Overlord
May 29, 2007
For the second time now, people on my contact list for Hotmail have gotten an email from me that I did not send. The title of the email says "Hello"(it even gets sent to me:roll:) and it basically talks about this asswipe's site where crap gets sold. I am not giving up my Hotmail account, and I have used several anti-spyware/virus programs. It has been a while since it got sent, so maybe I cleared it up and got it again somehow(maybe someone on my contact list gave it to me?)?

All I know is that it is really ticking me off, as I do not visit questionable sites and do not open email from people that I don't know.

I also don't feel like going to a store and getting this virus/spyware "professionally" done at the cost of my hard-earned money. I also do not want to reformat my harddrive as there are lots of things on there worth keeping.

If I performed a system restore, would that work? I've never used this before, so I am not sure what would happen. Would all the stuff I've saved onto my harddrive after that point be deleted or does it just work for Windows itself? Of course, I have never actually set a point(as far as I know) for system restore, so the time it reverts to could be when I first got my computer(almost 4 years ago).

Anyone else got any ideas? I don't think it is a major virus, but it is annoying.:-(

The stupid idiot's place has something to do with huahaibiz or something. Grrrrrr!

hermite

Not so newbie now
Nov 21, 2007
950 Snowupthearse Rd. Can
Shadow, I'm not a computer tech but I'm quite sure doing a system restore won't fix that problem. And there's no need to pay for a spensive program when the best are free.

http://www.free-av.com/index.htm
Anti Malware - Comodo BOClean
Malwarebytes.org
|MG| SpywareBlaster 4.1