New computer to be up and running today

#juan

Hall of Fame Member
Aug 30, 2005
Two or three weeks ago the CPU fan in my computer got so plugged with dust that the processor was overheating. It started to hang up every time I booted up as well as other dopey things. By the time I discovered the problem and vacuumed it out, the processor was fried. For the last couple of weeks, I've been squeezing in and using my wife's computer when the withdrawal symptoms get too much...:D

I just bought a whole new computer. Included is, a Pentium D 820 processor, a gig of RAM, a 250 gig hard drive, a new DVD/CD burner, a graphics bundle and an XPL10 19" LCD monitor, as well as a HP printer.

I just have to decide on the operating system. I've been using Windows 98 for a few years now and I've gotten kind of used to it. I will either go with the newest XP or Linix. I had Linix on a back up computer but I donated that computer to my grandson.

DurkaDurka

Internet Lawyer
Mar 15, 2006
Toronto
Congrats on your new pc Juan, it sounds like a decent machine.

Have you ever setup a dual boot system? This would allow you to run both Linux & Windows on the same harddrive via partitioning. .. Also, Microsoft Vista will be released in Jan, you picked a good time to get a new pc.

#juan

Hall of Fame Member
Aug 30, 2005
Congrats on your new pc Juan, it sounds like a decent machine.

Have you ever setup a dual boot system? This would allow you to run both Linux & Windows on the same harddrive via partitioning. .. Also, Microsoft Vista will be released in Jan, you picked a good time to get a new pc.

Thanks Durka......I will definitely talk to you about a dual boot system. I tried it a few years ago and I didn't put the systems in in the right order and as you know, windows is very territorial. I was pulling my hair out in short order.

DurkaDurka

Internet Lawyer
Mar 15, 2006
Toronto