Do all we can do - global warming

Karlin

Council Member
Jun 27, 2004
Now that we have dilly-dallied for 20 years since we first noticed things were heating up, we have to make up for it. World Bank Chief Scientist Robert Watson said on Monday that "It is going to take a major change in the way we generate and use electricity to even stabilize between two and three degrees," he added. "The time for action is now."

http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/wireStory?id=2886814

A major source of global warming's emissions come from our cars. Alberta could build a train between CAlgary and Edmonton, for eg.

A really big issue on the future will be "what to do with all these cars with big engines?" , and so we have to start NOW to produce ONLY car engines that will be less polluting, and one way to ensure that happens is to limit the horsepower of car engines to 100HP, maybe 120HP. I have been driving 100hp cars for many many years... and if everyone had them and not bogger ones we would all be SAFER, and with less fossil fuels emissions that cause global warming.

Isn't that a reasonable sacrifice for people and industry, compared to the sobering crisis of global warming?

Germany did it. Well, they did limit the amount of emissions to the point where only hybrids or small i.c. engines can meet.

check it out:

"Germany plans to tax cars on emissions"
http://tinyurl.com/38adlh

I mean, c'mon people, this is a huge deal and we cannot let things like our need for ego-boosting big cars or the selfish idea that you won't be killed in bigger cars - what about the other people in smaller cars- you are the threat and must be eliminated!!!!!!!!

The car engines we make today will pollute for 20 or 25 years. That will be long after we take really serious measures against emissions, and you will not likely be allowed to drive it, so don't get yopuorself into a jam and just buy "cars for the future".