Enough is enough

Retired_Can_Soldier

The End of the Dog is Coming!
Mar 19, 2006
Alberta
In 1998 I was medically released from the military and became a hardcore advocate of veterans issues, blogging regularly on the subject and catching the attention of politicians and news media. Back then Canadian Troops were serving in a Peacekeeping capacity, but we still had casualties. The official opposition promised that it would change things both in and out of the Canadian Military.

But before that happened I went through some tough changes.

That first year after I was released I went through a major transformation. At the age of 21 I signed on as a soldier and pushing into 33 I suddenly found my identity stripped away. I defined myself as a soldier, I believed in all the things the military instills, brotherhood, honor, integrity. Suddenly on the outside looking in I felt lost in this new civilian life and fell into a state of depression. I had some pretty tough days and harbored thoughts that were self destructive.

When I finally admitted to my wife that I thought I might be clinically depressed I tried to seek help in the civilian healthcare system, what I found there was people pushing prescriptions instead of offering solutions. Paxal was the drug they were recommending, but no one wanted to talk about what ailed me, because honestly, no one understood.

Finally, I did find someone through my Long Term Disability Counselor. He referred me to a clinical psychologist, a retired Colonel who served in the South African Air Force. After the first session I knew I was going to get better and adjust to my new life as a civilian. I was lucky, I didn't lose a leg, or see a friend killed in the line of duty. I never saw action, but the transition from soldier to civilian is tough enough when you go unprepared.