Where to Settle Edmonton or Calgary

certainreality

Aug 29, 2007
Hi Everyone,
I have been reading this forum for a while and thanks for all the words of advice, the I have gained from other's postings. I am from Trinidad and will be immigrating to Canada soon. I have just visited Toronto and have decided, its not for my family and I. My wife is a nurse and I am a Business Analyst with the largest oil company in Trinidad, Petrotrin. I cannot seem to decide which city would be better, Edmonton or Calgary. I would like to settle in a place that is open minded, friendly, good to raise a family,has good job prospect, a place I can live peacefully and a friendly environment. We are simple people who just would like to live comfortably and not an ostentatious lifestyle. Any advice as to where we should settle Edmonton or Calgary?

eh1eh

Blah Blah Blah
Aug 31, 2006
Under a Lone Palm
Welcome to the forum. Someone else might be able to tell you more about these cities than I, but they both have good job prospects. You might want to check the reality market though. It's a boom out west. Check here.

Good luck in your new life.

karrie

OogedyBoogedy
Jan 6, 2007
bliss
Hello, and welcome to the forum.

Each city has different things to offer.

Calgary is the location of the Canadian head offices for the oil companies, so, if you're looking for work in that area again, that's where you'll want to be.

Edmonton has marginally cheaper realestate, but both are still expensive.

From what I've seen, Edmonton is much more multicultural, peacable, and arts focused.

Frankly, I think the best way to decide would be to visit them. I know that can be a very expensive endeavor, but, I think in the end it will save you a ton of headache.

jjaycee98

Electoral Member
Jan 27, 2006
British Columbia
Calgary or Edmonton