Want to move to Edmonton or Calgary.

sim242

Oct 16, 2011
U.K
Hi,
Can anyone help me? I live and work in the U.K, never been to Canada but for the past 3years I have been really interested in moving to Edmonton or Calgary but I cant make my mind up. I work as a Pre-School manager and have 2 lovely children a 16yr old son and a 13yr old daughter. I don't know much about the areas but which is better? By that I mean employment, schools, colleges, weather (we like the winter snow and the summer). I know I need to go and visit Edmonton and Calgary in the near future but I think I would do that after I have had some feed back from people who have always lived there or people who have already moved from the U.K.

Many Thanks
sim242

captain morgan

Hall of Fame Member
Mar 28, 2009
A Mouse Once Bit My Sister
Hi,
Can anyone help me? I live and work in the U.K, never been to Canada but for the past 3years I have been really interested in moving to Edmonton or Calgary but I cant make my mind up. I work as a Pre-School manager and have 2 lovely children a 16yr old son and a 13yr old daughter. I don't know much about the areas but which is better? By that I mean employment, schools, colleges, weather (we like the winter snow and the summer). I know I need to go and visit Edmonton and Calgary in the near future but I think I would do that after I have had some feed back from people who have always lived there or people who have already moved from the U.K.

Many Thanks
sim242

You'd be wise to travel to both cities prior to making a decision and it'd be best to make the trip in winter as you'll get a taste of what they are like in the more difficult season. Edmonton is only a 3 hour drive from Calgary, so you can kill 2 birds with one stone over a single trip.

As far as which city is preferential, well, there's an old saying: "The only good thing to come out of Edmonton is the road to Calgary"

petros

The Central Scrutinizer
Nov 21, 2008
Low Earth Orbit