Calgary versus Edmonton

Angela1980

Oct 4, 2011
Hello!

I am going to be graduating with my BBA in December, and would like to move to either Calgary or Edmonton. I have no experience in either city, so I am looking for some personal experience pros and cons of both places.

How is the job market? How is the traffic? Is rent really crazy? Weather? Things to do? etc. etc. (I have done some basic research, but am looking for personal opinions)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks!

wulfie68

Council Member
Mar 29, 2009
Calgary, AB
I was born and raised in Northern Alberta, where "the City" was Edmonton. I also attended my post secondary education there. I also lived in Calgary for a decade, and spent a fair amount of time there for the decade prior to my move. I won't claim to be completely impartial but I can be reasonably objective.

Job markets - as far as I know, prospects are strong in both cities, although more corporate HQs, especially related to the energy sector, are located in Calgary

Traffic - in my experience, Calgary has a better system of roads but the city seems more spread out, because it is more elongated, whereas Edmonton is more circular. The end result is although you may be able to cruise along, on the whole you will have to drive farther in Calgary for anything that is not located in your immediate vicinity. Calgary has a decent transit system, but so does Edmonton, and commutes just seem shorter in Edmonton because of the city's geography.

Rent, I can't comment on. Real estate in Calgary never seems to go down though. Edmonton's real estate market (from what friends/family relate) isn't as explosive but still strong.