Alec Baldwin fired shot that killed one, wounded another on film set

Retired_Can_Soldier

The End of the Dog is Coming!
Mar 19, 2006
Alberta
I know, and probably not.

I think Baldwin has a case. I agree with you completely. If you clear a weapon in front of my eyes, then hand it to me, the first thing I'll do is clear it. But I don't think Baldwin was ever a soldier, and to the untrained, it might seem reasonable that an armorer on a movie set wouldn't be putting live rounds in a prop weapon. That's part of the armorer's job. As far as I'm concerned, the most culpable person in this scenario is the armorer.
I learned that rule when I was five, long before I was an instructor or had any military background. I say SOP, but it's a well-known firearm rule.
What he did was stupid, pointing an unchecked gun at anybody. What live ammo was doing in the gun is another question, and I'd agree the Armour should have had better control of this shit show and probably will be the most culpable..

Tecumsehsbones

Hall of Fame Member
Mar 18, 2013
Washington DC
I learned that rule when I was five, long before I was an instructor or had any military background. I say SOP, but it's a well-known firearm rule.
Agreed. But do you have any evidence that Baldwin had ever taken firearms training?
What he did was stupid, pointing an unchecked gun at anybody. What live ammo was doing in the gun is another question, and I'd agree the Armour should have had better control of this shit show and probably will be the most culpable..
Precisely. And stupid is not murder, and an accident is not manslaughter. As I said, Baldwin has a case, either for an outright acquittal as an accident, or for a reduced charge of negligent homicide.

spaminator

Hall of Fame Member
Oct 26, 2009
Judge denies requests to limit evidence ahead of armorer’s trial in fatal ’Rust’ shooting
Author of the article:Associated Press
Associated Press
Published Feb 14, 2024 • 3 minute read