IRS claims they lost Lois Lernerís emails (you know, the good ones)

Locutus
Iím gonna just go ahead and say this is nothing but a bunch of HOOEY:
WASHINGTON TIMES Ė The IRS told Congress on Friday that it has lost some of former employee Lois G. Lernerís emails, including some covering communications with Democrats in Congress and with other parts of the government, according to the Houseís top tax-law writer.

Rep. Dave Camp, chairman of the Ways and Means Committee, said he was stunned that it took more than a year into the investigation for the IRS to inform Congress that it didnít have those emails.

The agency blamed a computer crash for the mishap.

ďThe fact that I am just learning about this, over a year into the investigation, is completely unacceptable and now calls into question the credibility of the IRSís response to congressional inquiries,Ē Mr. Camp said. ďThere needs to be an immediate investigation and forensic audit by Department of Justice as well as the Inspector General.Ē
The IRS is obviously steeped in corruption. If this isnít an argument to abolish the IRS, I donít know what is.

IRS claims they lost Lois Lernerís emails (you know, the good ones) ¬Ľ The Right Scoop -

David Burge ‏@iowahawkblog

Oddly, government can produce all of your emails from 2009-2011.

and...

Nixon, 1973: 18 minute gap. IRS, 2014: 700,000 minute gap.

DTH ‏@DavidTHogan

@iowahawkblog @charlescwcooke This needs to be in every press conference/interview/Sunday talk show

The agency blamed a

computer crash

for the mishap.

BaalsTears
+1
How believable is it that the emails were lost? Has anyone heard of data recovery. There's an entire industry based on it. How believable is it that the IRS didn't have backup?