A warning to all Staples customers

ldivall

Aug 20, 2008
As of Aug 15th, 2008 I have resigned from Staples Business Depot. I was employed as a Depot technician at the Sarnia warranty repair depot. I have ended my association with Staples due to discrimination towards me and unethical practices by the other employees.

I will start by describing my position, so that you can understand a bit better. I was a Warranty repair depot technician. Unlike the resident technicians that you would find in any given Staples location who handle all the software aspect of computers, the repair depot only deals with hardware issues.

I was hired on as part time with a possibility of full time. Needless to say I didn’t get a full time position. My number of hours had started to reduce, so I asked my supervisor if I could get more hours. He said it wasn’t a possibility and to “Do what you have to do.” I tried to find a second part time job, but I was given very sporadic hours that didn’t allow me to seek another job. So I did what I had to do. I was doing small computer repairs on the side to try to make ends meat. When Staples discovered this, they jumped right to a final written warning threatening termination if I didn’t stop. They were telling me that due to a conflict of interest I could repair computers part time for them or nothing at all. Aren’t welders and construction workers allowed to work on more than 1 job site? Why wouldn’t I be allowed? In my opinion they were holding me back in my field because I am a woman in a male dominated field.