Need an Explanation Please !!!!

charlesbb
I'm studying English . Someone plz explain this to me !

A person who looks camp means that person is ???

lone wolf
Quote: Originally Posted by charlesbb View Post

I'm studying English . Someone plz explain this to me !

A person who looks camp means that person is ???

Corny, funny, odd

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camp_(style)
Last edited by lone wolf; Apr 9th, 2010 at 08:50 AM..

wulfie68
This looks like an error to me. "Camp" can be a noun or verb but this case it seems like someone is attempting to use it as an adverb, which is foreign in my experience, but it could be some kind of regional slang.

CDNBear
Gay? Try looking in here...

Urban Dictionary: camp

Curiosity
Um do people still say "camp"???

To CharlesBB - best wishes - English is a roughie to learn - I thank the fates for giving me English as my natal language.

Praxius
I think I've heard it mentioned once or twice in my life, but it's a term not commonly used around where I live.

Curiosity
Praxius.... the word brings back tapping toes and snapping fingers.... is that "camp"????

I mean other than the obvious being imprisoned during summer months in one of those terrible girl only or boy only places where people get rid of the kid for a few weeks haha....

CDNBear
Quote: Originally Posted by Praxius View Post

I think I've heard it mentioned once or twice in my life, but it's a term not commonly used around where I live.

I use it all the time, but I'm a metrosexual Roughneck.

Cliffy
I've always heard it in reference to campy movies. It may be a gay term but there are very few gays in this neck of the woods, so I haven't heard it used that way.

YukonJack
My dictionary defines "CAMP" (adj.) as 'theatrical, exaggerated', 'effiminate', 'homosexual'.

Also, (dating myself) I remenber that the late actor Victor Mature was defined as 'camp'. Contemporary equivalent would be Sylvester Stallone or George Clooney: so BAD, it's good.

charlesbb