Wikiality!!!

eh1eh

Blah Blah Blah
Aug 31, 2006
Under a Lone Palm
Yep. Colbert usually manages to pin down the facts. It's like I've been saying since 1997. "It must be true, I saw it on the internet!"

hermanntrude

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Jun 23, 2006
Newfoundland!
ha

we all knew that wikipedia was not neccessarily reliable though eh? fact is if something is contested, we can't really rely on it, although usually when a matter is contested, it says so on the page. Factual matters though can be relied on.

By the way how do you suppose a hard-copy encyclopedia is compiled?

CDNBear

Custom Troll
Sep 24, 2006
Ontario
ha

we all knew that wikipedia was not neccessarily reliable though eh? fact is if something is contested, we can't really rely on it, although usually when a matter is contested, it says so on the page. Factual matters though can be relied on.

Not by every wing nut with an agenda or an axe to grind, having the ablity to change history with a key stroke.

That is the problem with wikipedia.

Encylcopedias, rarely site themselves as their proof of fact.

There is another problem with wikipedia.

It's tantamount to the criminal being his own aliby.

hermanntrude

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Jun 23, 2006
Newfoundland!
everyone puts their own spin on things. everyone has a bias. I think the wikipedia has an element of viability. we all know not to trust parts of it but it can be valuable resource as well

L Gilbert

Winterized
Nov 30, 2006
50 acres in Kootenays BC
the-brights.net
ha

Quite right. If I quote Wikipedia, I also add other sources as backup. What I find handy about Wiki is that it says stuff in layman's language. For instance, I could post a Science Magazine article and a lot of people would only understand a tenth of the article (sometimes me included).