Moving to Edmonton....should we do it? Young British family

Happy New year!!!!
As a family just considering moving to Edmonton/Canada for a few years to work, study and experience your lovely country, there seems to be quite a bit of negativity about Edmonton!! I would be vvvvvvvvvv interested in opinions on moving to Edmonton from London....I am a bit scared by the prospect as I worry that Edmonton is a little small and provincial for me (sorry!), but my husband is a sports nut and considering doing a sport PHd at the uni. I am a Speech and Language Therapist/Pathologist and I know my qualifications are transferrable (with the most ludicrously bureaucratic process in Canada!!!) I like good shops, cafes, restaurants in local communites where you can walk to, with community centres with kids clubs, libraries, museums, dance (to watch), theatre...etc.. I am not a big fan of driving everywhere, especially with 2 small kids although I imagine it would be a necessity. And accomodation sounds a nightmare from what I havew read. Can I ask if it is possible to live in Old Strathcona as that seems the place that sounds more to my liking????. Bearing in mind cost of living in Edmonton I imagine is much much less than London where living in an average 3 bed house in an average area costs over $1m to buy or $4,500 per month rental! Any avice on childcare either? I have two children, a baby and a 2 year old. Is it cheap (here I pay $1600 a month for 2 days a week childcare...and that's cheap!)??
PLEASE help need guidance as I need to get my professional qualifications converted and that costs a fortune, so I am keen to make a decision asap! Thanks ++++