The West Coast: Empty??

4sarad

Jan 2, 2007
Alright, I have to admit that I'm another one of those Americans determined to move to Canada ASAP. I'm sure you're all sick of us!

I do have a question though. I'd love to live on the coast of BC, but from what I can tell, there's NOTHING there. Is this true or do I just have poor researching skills? I'm looking mostly in the mid to upper BC area. I see Prince Rupert and Kitmat (which seems to be pretty far inland). Is there anything else? I'm looking for a town with preferably more than a couple thousand people where I could afford to buy a nice little plot of land and build a home. Any ideas? I'm a librarian and my husband is a novelist, so as long as the town has a library that's all that matters job-wise. (and we do enjoy cloudy days, rain, and cool temperatures)

Twila

Nanah Potato
Mar 26, 2003
Try further south....the upper portion of BC is colder, and wetter. Most BC'ers live in the sourthern portion of BC

#juan

Hall of Fame Member
Aug 30, 2005
It's hardly empty. There are thousands of miles of beautiful, unspoiled fjords and inlets that are home to native settlements as well as wild animals. Of course there are a few prospectors and a few sawmills etc. There is a link below to a map that shows the main population centers

http://tinyurl.com/3dhn86

talloola

Hall of Fame Member
Nov 14, 2006
Vancouver Island
Try the sunshine coast, (Pender Harbour, Gibsons), or Powell River area.

I've been to Prince Rupert, wouldn't live there if it was the last place to live in B.C.

The gulf islands, quadra island, savory island, texada island, all near the coast, (if you want to live
on an island).

From Prince Rupert down would be too remote for me, lots of small towns, and fishing areas.

If you want the more northern west coast, but don't mind going a little in land, Smithers is a very nice small town, can't remember how far from the coast, probably a couple of hours drive.

JoeSchmoe

Time Out
May 28, 2007