How long do you spend doing your own tax return?

ak47num1
To those who are working full-time, just wondering how long it takes you guys to do your tax returns.

To those who hire an accountant to do your taxes, do you feel that the money you paid is worthwhile? If so, why do you feel this way and can you share your experiences?

Really interested to hear your experiences.

gopher
As a former IRS agent I don't take too much time to do my taxes. Besides, I use the short form.

AmberEyes
I don't know how I always get my step-dad to do it, but he's not around this year so... I dunno, maybe I'll just send them all of my slips and let them sort it out.

westmanguy
gopher you were an IRS agent.

Wow what a hated profession!

And to think the American-hater was once a government civil servant!

talloola
The most work I do on my taxes is place each envelope in a folder, and when I have all of them,
off I go to my favourite tax lady, who does a great job every year. I used to do them years ago,
but once we had them done professionally, I didn't want to touch them again.

Kreskin
Mine is going to be complicated this year. I need to get going on it. How long it will take depends on how creative I'll need to be.

Dexter Sinister
I do the returns for myself, my wife, and our two children. Takes me about 15-20 minutes per return. I spend $40 every year on CRA-approved commercial tax preparation software (Intuit's Quicktax), and I'd consider it cheap at twice the price. Saves me hours, mostly because it does all the arithmetic correctly the first time, knows all about the necessary schedules and supplementary forms, and I can send the returns in over the Internet, or print and mail them.