KEE-RYST! AM I IMPRESSED!

Ten Packs
"Car White-Water Kayaking" ? ? ?

(It's another one of those that can take a couple minutes to D/L, and in little bits - you'll want to see it all at once, so let it load, and open another window in the meantime.)

www.photonlabs.dk/jokes/cooldriver.html (external - login to view)

zenfisher
That looks like fun.

Ten Packs
FUN?

I'm a very good driver (now where did I hear THAT before, and why am I thinking about Quantas?)

BUT THERE'S NO FLIPPIN' WAY I COULD EVEN TRY THAT!

zenfisher
A little practise and away you go.

Reverend Blair
It's just a more extreme version of autocross. I couldn't do it as well as the guy in the clip either, but with a little practice I bet I could do pretty well.

The real secret is power to weight ratio giving you skid control...you kind of point with the steering wheel, then steer with your foot. Like driving on ice, buy without the front wheels sliding.

If somebody will loan me a Lotus 7, I'll be happy to demonstrate.

Hard-Luck Henry
Hey, Rev - I'm sure you're aware that Lotus haven't made a "7" for about 30 years. Have you seen the Caterham Super 7 (external - login to view)?

Reverend Blair
I am aware of that, Henry. I know the only guy in Winnipeg who owns one. He won't lend it to me though.

At least that's reputed to be the only real one in Winnipeg...you can buy kits out of the US that aren't as good and there's at least one of those in town. It has a 350 Chevy engine in it. Very fast, but virtually unsteerable. It's built on a shortened truck frame.

As far as I know the Caterhams aren't available in Canada because they don't meet the crash and/or emission standards. You can order them for the track, but can't drive them on the road. The Lotus, being thirty years old, is exempt from the rules.

Reverend Blair
Oh, forgot to mention.... If anybody wants to buy me one of these, (external - login to view) I'd appreciate it.

GL Schmitt
HA!