Canadian music policies

Keef

Apr 27, 2009
Hi everyone I'm a UK music student currently studying a for a degree. I'm writing an essay on Americanization and globalization and wondered if anyone could give me any information about your music scene. eg whats on the radio, goverment funding for canadian/local musicians and anything else that you think might be useful.
Thanks
Keith

wulfie68

Council Member
Mar 29, 2009
Calgary, AB
Well the CRTC (Canadian Radio and Telecommunications Commission? something like that) regulates our airwaves in terms of content regulations etc. (including Canadian content vs foreign: its something like a 40% required or it used to be :p ). As far as funding goes, there are various arts funding programs from various levels of gov't across the country (mostly federal and provincial, not so much municipal in most cases). It all depends on what specifically you're after...

Keef

Apr 27, 2009
thanks for both replies, I have been looking at CIRPA (The Canadian Independent Record Production Association) who are involved in alot of content control and funding for Canadian musicians. I have tried looking for something on Cancom which if i remeber correctly requires a song to be 2 of 4 things from their list to be classed as Canadian? alot of my info is out of date as im getting it from books so any recent publications would be great. I did get some info from CIRPA and CRTC (canadian radio and television commision) websites. im mainly looking for a case study about an artist who has either benifited form being canadian from financial or music industry backing, or someone who has been penalised for not filling Cancoms criteria. if that makes any sense! thanks

Cannuck

Time Out
Feb 2, 2006
Alberta
im mainly looking for a case study about an artist who has either benifited form being canadian from financial or music industry backing, or someone who has been penalised for not filling Cancoms criteria. if that makes any sense! thanks