What is life like in Canada? (What Is Life Like In Canada)

FrankieGib
Hello,

My name is Frankie and I'm from Ireland. I'm considering moving to Canada ( no city chosen yet) for a period of one year possibly longer. I have heard that Canada is a beautiful country to live in and the people are really friendly. I have a degree in Telecomms and have 7 years experience in the industry.
Can someone please answer the following questions:

1) Is there a particular city which offers more for someone aged 27?
2) Is there much employment at present in the telecomms industry in Canada?
3) What are the main sports canadians play? Is soccer or rugby popular there?
4) Are canadians friendly towards foreign people living\working in their country or do they feel threatened?
5) Is the cost of living high ( e.g. rent , eating out etc ) ?
6) Is the weather at Wintertime extremely harsh ?

Any further input received would be gratefully accepted.

Many thanks.

DurkaDurka
Quote: Originally Posted by FrankieGib

Hello,

My name is Frankie and I'm from Ireland. I'm considering moving to Canada ( no city chosen yet) for a period of one year possibly longer. I have heard that Canada is a beautiful country to live in and the people are really friendly. I have a degree in Telecomms and have 7 years experience in the industry.

1) Is there a particular city which offers more for someone aged 27? Toronto, Monteal, Vancouver, Calagry etc.
2) Is there much employment at present in the telecomms industry in Canada? Lots of employment options in the telcom industry. check out www.bell.ca (external - login to view) or www.telus.ca (external - login to view)
3) What are the main sports canadians play? Is soccer or rugby popular there? Soccer & rugby are played in Canada, not on the same scale as Europe though
4) Are canadians friendly towards foreign people living\working in their country or do they feel threatened? Canada is very tolerant.