Free holidays vs. fixed holidays?

Would you prefer the government set holidays for you, or that you should choose your own?

• I want to choose my own.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • The currently selected legal holidays ought to remain.

• Other option.

• Total voters

Machjo

Hall of Fame Member
Oct 19, 2004
Ottawa, ON
If you had to choose, would you prefer having the government select specific holidays (Easter, Christmas, etc.) for us to celebrate, or simply scrap the two and require employers to give staff two additional days off each year, which the staff emmber could negotiate with the employer?

tracy

House Member
Nov 10, 2005
California
I couldn't care less. Since I work in health care, I seldom get the actual holidays off anyways. I've had one Christmas off in the last 4 years.

Machjo

Hall of Fame Member
Oct 19, 2004
Ottawa, ON
Re: RE: Free holidays vs. fixed holidays?

tracy said:
I couldn't care less. Since I work in health care, I seldom get the actual holidays off anyways. I've had one Christmas off in the last 4 years.

Health care is an essential service, so that's a choice you make for yourself. And I suppose the salary is commensurate with the disadvantage of not having your hoilidays. So I'm primarily referring to those who do not work in essential services.

tracy

House Member
Nov 10, 2005
California
Yep my choice, and I don't mean to sound like I'm complaining since I generally like working holidays. I'm working Easter Sunday and have my rabbit ears ready:) I don't get paid any extra, but the regular staff does. The families are usually especially nice to us nurses on holidays too.

I think everyone should get to choose which option they prefer, as long as it doesn't cause a burden to the employer.

Machjo

Hall of Fame Member
Oct 19, 2004
Ottawa, ON
Re: RE: Free holidays vs. fixed holidays?

tracy said: