Needing some advice on taxes as a small business.

Adamsb

Jan 13, 2016
Hi guys, first post here but I'm hoping to pick someones brain about taxes as a small business. I'm from Ireland so all I know about taxes, doesn't apply here in Canada. To be clear, I'm not trying to avoid paying or hide cash. I just want to be sure I'm not shorting myself and ultimately my business.

Nick Danger

Council Member
Jul 21, 2013
Penticton, BC
Totally agree that a sharp accountant is well worth the time and money to source out, you're going to need one to prepare the proper statements for year end anyways. The benefit of having someone "in the trade" is that they are up on the latest changes, a real bonus in times of changing governments. More often than not, a good accountant will pay for him/her self in tax savings alone.

Tecumsehsbones

Hall of Fame Member
Mar 18, 2013
Washington DC
First off, where from in Ireland?

Second, I am a lawyer in America, and I can guarantee you that I would have charged you $850 for the advice that Captain Morgan gave you free for nothing. Get a certified accountant, by whatever name they use in Canada, and follow her advice. It's your best course.

Adamsb

Jan 13, 2016
I've considered going down the accountant route, but as a a small starting company I just can't afford it right now. Although maybe I'm expecting to be charged way more than I actually would.

Just a little background, I've been in business for 6 months, I have a full time job so the business isn't my sole income. With that being said I've only taken in approximately 2000 dollars in those y months. I picked a niche market of marine aquarium installation and care. Of that money I've taken in, I've had way more expenses. Website, business license, all the things you guys already know about. So far I'm in the red, which I was planning for so it's not a huge issue.