scaffold builder going to fort mac, help please

azezzo

Jan 7, 2010
chicago
ok I am a carpenter/scaffold builder from chicago and i am supposedly going to be getting a job building scaffold up at fort mac, hopefully taking 2 carpenters with me, they will fly me up there but wonder if i would be better off driving up there instead, i have a newer 4x4 truck diesel. So do i need a car up there or should i leave it at home.
how much is diesel up there per gallon? are things in the stores more expensive up there, being that its in the middle of no where? any and all info/advice would be appreciated, i am supposed to go up next month.

thanks

Kakato

Time Out
Jun 10, 2009
Alberta/N.W.T./Sask/B.C
Diesels less then a buck a liter and I would take my truck but thats just me,You'll find most Albertans have a love for their trucks.:p

It is a boom town so expect prices to be higher then other big citys and I hope they are providing accomodation or you will be sleeping in your truck or shelling out 200 bucks for a hotel room.

azezzo

Jan 7, 2010
chicago
do you know if i really need a vehicle, if i am going to stay in camp, and or will they let me bring a vehicle into camp?

JLM

Hall of Fame Member
Nov 27, 2008
Vernon, B.C.
Diesels less then a buck a liter and I would take my truck but thats just me,You'll find most Albertans have a love for their trucks.:p

It is a boom town so expect prices to be higher then other big citys and I hope they are providing accomodation or you will be sleeping in your truck or shelling out 200 bucks for a hotel room.

Maybe a guy should go up there and build a motel..............:lol:

#juan

Hall of Fame Member
Aug 30, 2005
I'm still trying to figure out why they might need another wood butcher/scaffold builder/carpenter in Fort Mac Murray. I wouldn't think that would be a speciallty in great demand.

azezzo

Jan 7, 2010
chicago
Scaffold builder, get a job in the United States. They still have the death penalty.

Or China.